Our Staff

OPCD Interim Executive Director Karl Fasold
Karl Fasold – Executive Director

Former Director of Technology, Karl Fasold has been with the OPCD since 2004. He started as the Closed Systems Manager, before his promotion to the Director of Technology and has worked under four previous Executive Directors, has undergone Hurricane Katrina, and has led the rebuilding of the 9-1-1 system afterward.

Karl has been a leader in the fields of technology and public safety. He is a National Emergency Number Association (NENA) certified Emergency Number Professional (ENP) and was recognized by the Association of Public Safety Communications Officers International (APCO Int’l) as the Information Technologist of the Year in 2008. He is currently serving as Vice-Chairman of the Motorola Solutions Public Safety Applications User Executive Committee, having served on the committee since 2008 and having served twice as Chairman. Karl is also currently serving as President of the Motorola Trunked Users Group for Louisiana (MTUG), a user’s group for those using Motorola Radio Systems.

Karl’s ample experience and qualifications in the fields of technology and public safety extend to his membership with the NOPD Reserve Division since 1983, where he currently serves as the Deputy Commander with the rank of Captain.

Karl has been a resident of the City of New Orleans since graduating from Loyola University in 1982 with a Bachelor of Science (BS) in Computer Science.

Happily married since 1995, with two adult daughters, Karl enjoys spending time with his family in the City of New Orleans where he has spent the better part of his life serving.

We at OPCD give our thanks to his continuous commitment to lead and serve.

Operational Leadership

  • Neliska Calloway-Hewitt, 9-1-1 Operations Manager, A Nights
  • Nishe Caire, 9-1-1 Operations Manager, B Nights
  • Gwendolyn Johnson, 9-1-1 Operations Manager, A Days
  • Yolanda Nero-Haynes, 9-1-1 Operations Manager, B Days 

Administrative Leadership

  • Karl Fasold, ENP, Executive Director 
  • Heather Hilliard, Deputy Executive Director 
  • Cassandra B. Robert, MBA, Finance Manager 
  • Emma Skilbred, MPA, Public Information Officer (PIO)
  • Danielle Wilson, MCJ, Personnel Manager  
  • Erica Mercadel-Hayes, MBA, 3-1-1 Operations Director   

Technical Leadership

  • Ryan Eleew, Director of Technology
  • Bill Irwin, Technical Operations Manager
  • Byron Meredith, CAD Manager
  • Kathrine Cargo, GIS Manager