Orleans Parish Communication District Announces 2021 Annual Telecommunicator Awards Winners

Orleans Parish Communication District Announces
2021 Annual Telecommunicator Award Winners

The Orleans Parish Communication District is proud to announce its 25th annual OPCD Public Safety Telecommunicator Awards winners, celebrating the employees who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to serve Orleans Parish.

The awards presented are designed to recognize the hard work and dedication OPCD emergency communications specialists exhibit on a daily basis while in service of the people of New Orleans. The winners listed below were nominated by their peers and selected by Executive Director Tyrell Morris and members of the OPCD Command Staff in acknowledgement for their commitment and dedication to constantly #SHOWUP for New Orleans residents and visitors.

“The OPCD Command Staff and I are excited to announce the recipients of this year’s Public Safety Telecommunicator Awards,” said Executive Director Morris.  “These individuals have each executed the meaning of #SHOWUP in its entirety and have demonstrated what it means to be a hero at OPCD. This dedication is especially meaningful considering the amount of pressure and uncertainty they have all faced during the tumult of the previous year. I am so appreciative and proud of these Heroes Under the Headset for stepping up to the plate and standing as a shining example of what it means to be an emergency communications specialist at OPCD.”

Congratulations to all the winners and thank you for your amazing efforts in helping OPCD stick to its mission of getting the right people to the right place at the right time better than anyone else in the world.

The 2021 award winners are listed below:

Jyneco Thornton
Rookie of the Year

Kewana Fortune
Call Taker of the Year

Kiara Smith
EMS Dispatcher of the Year

Danielle Hurst
Fire Dispatcher of the Year

Contrice Martin
Police Dispatcher of the Year

Karen Martin
Supervisor of the Year

David Adams
Trainer of the Year

 Arvette Compton
NOLA-311 Specialist of the Year

Chelsea Porché
Administrative Team Member of the Year